I’ve run two market day stalls so far, and at each of them, a friend of mine, who happens to be all things Viking, has asked me about ear spoons.  I used to know where I could buy them by the box load, but that store shut down, and it’s been a long time since I’ve seen them.

It just so happens that the Canton of Stegby has its annual Feast of Friendship coming up, and this year there is a Viking theme.  If you’re in Lochac I do encourage you to come, it’s a wonderful event and a great bunch of people.  You can find out more about them here:  http://lochac.sca.org/stegby/

They of course have an A&S competition, and among the items they have listed for competition is a Viking treasure necklace, so of course I set out immediately to find information on Viking jewellery.

I get distracted easily.  One minute I’m looking at pretty jewellery type things, the next I’m staring at an ornate Viking ear spoon, cast in bronze.  It was beautiful.  In fact, you can see it for yourself:  http://www.netvike.com/volundrviking/VV7005DETAILS.HTML

I’m not sure if the site is advertising their wares, or if it’s showing off well preserved pieces from archaeological digs, but I was immediately struck with the urge to carve that piece in bone.  I could even justify the effort, because I know someone who desperately wants an ear spoon.  So out came my dremel, and 2 hours later, voila!

Bone Ear Spoon

This bone ear spoon depicts a Valkyrie holding out a horn to offer to a dead warrior entering Valhalla. It is carved on beef bone.

