I’ve been a poet since I was a teen, and I’ve come to know that if the urge to write strikes in the middle of the night, I had better get it all down on paper right then, or it gets lost forever.  So there I sat in the middle of my living room, shivering, in a bathrobe, madly scribbling away on a sheet of computer printer paper, at 4am this morning.

I’ve heard the tune before.  Some of you may even have heard my heavily edited rendition of The Ball of Kirriemuir at an SCA event some time ago.  Though I must admit, it took me a little while to work out where the tune in my head had come from.

This song is for my friend Ragnar, who fences, and is a Viking.  Thus the “whippy stick”…

Ragnar: the Viking with Flair
by Pelagia Aldinoch

I sing of a Viking warrior,
Ragnar is his name.
He had a little whippy stick,
A sword, he did proclaim.
It was so light and slender
It felt like thrusting air,
So he pillaged long and far,
And he did it all with flair.
He pillaged long and far,
And he did it all with flair.

He had a Viking longship,
And he sailed it round about,
And every port he sailed into
His whippy stick came out,
Saying, “Give us gold, and we might let you live,
Does that sound fair?”
Then he raped the wives and daughters,
And he did it all with flair.
He raped the wives and daughters,
And he did it all with flair.

Now Ragnar’s put his sword up,
He’s hauled the longship in,
For every port he pulls into
The kids all look like him.
But don’t discount the danger
As he sits there in his chair-
He tells other Vikings what to do
And he tells them all with flair.
He talls the Viking what to do,
And he tells them all with flair!

To hear my rendition, click the link below.  You are welcome to download my song for your own personal use, but please don’t publish it anywhere else without discussing with me first.
Ragnar: The Viking with Flair

(c) Kristine Robinson 2011

