I’m going for a two-fer here.  Two disparate items, both of them actually late in the offering.

Item 9, a cordial:

This is a mandarine liquor, or cordial, or whatever you wish to call it.  It’s made on vodka.  I’ve taken the rind of two small mandarines, 1/2 tsp cardamom, 1/2 tsp cloves, and 1/2 stick of cinnamon, and I’ve filtered a bottle of vodka through these ingredients with a coffee filter multiple times.  Then I’ve taken fresh ingredients, and I’ve let them steep in the bottom of the bottle for around 3 weeks.  Today I decanted it into smaller bottles, as I intend to take a small amount with me to Great Northern War.  It’s got a lovely flavour, it’a a very deep citrus, the cardamom notes come out strongly, there’s just the tiniest note of bitterness on the back edge.  I’m rather happy with this attempt, as it’s entirely my creation.  I’ve never ventured beyond Ypocras and Claree before this, and those were working from redactions.

Citrussy Goodness

Item 10 is a kirtle.

I picked the material up from Rowany Festival, and always knew that it would become a kirtle.  I actually finished this dress about a week ago, but I’ve only just got around to photographing it.  I’m sorry, I don’t remember where I got the instructions for making it.  I do recall that I edited it heavily though, and did things in a very different way to the initial instruction.  I would not be able to replicate it, I think.

Mmm, I like green.

This brings me to the completion of my first fifth of my challenge.  Yay!

