This particular post was always supposed to be me crowing about the fact that I’ve taught my first class, but I’ve decided that doesn’t need to be counted in my challenge.  I did teach my first class, I’ve given away many small bottles of the resulting brew, but the challenge was all in the documentation rather than anything else.

I did not, however, come away from the Feast of Friendship with nothing to add to my challenge.  The wonderful thing about the SCA is the learning, and I’ve learned quite a lot this weekend.  I’ve learned that I can cobble together (barely) passable documentation in half an hour, even when I’ve lost my original resource notes (I will post up said documentation and my treasure necklace tomorrow).  I’ve watched fingerloop braiding, and will be searching for resources online to learn how to do it.  I’ve sat with Dimitri and gone over hat-making techniques, which I shall be attempting at some point in the near future.  And, springing from a dream I had the night before we left for the Feast, I’ve made my very first four-strand braid.

Four Strand Braid

I am in the process of making Mouse Pouches for our Mouse Guard recipients.  Of course, pouches need to be tied somehow, so I’ve been pondering on learning braid techniques for the past couple of weeks, but haven’t had the time to sit down and research.  So, of course, my brain has been ticking over it all for a while, and came up with a solution while I had my back turned.

I dreamt of threads that were attached to my fingers, three to each hand, where the threads from the index finger were moved to the threads on the opposing pinkie finger, then moved along.  The imagery was perfect for showing me where the strands needed to go.  The dream version would make a six-strand flat braid.  It’s easy enough to simplify that to four-strand, which is what I did, in the car, on the 2 1/2 hour drive to Warwick.  I worked a starting position with two strands of red on the interior, and a strand of white either side on the exterior, to produce that consistent arrow formation you can see on the photograph.

Four strand braid instructions

 

