I completed my first mouse pouch today.

Actually, amend that to almost completed.  There’s a story there.

I spent the day at The Battle of Bottony Cross, an annual event held by the Barony of St Florian De La Riviere.  The current king, King Cornelius III, made a presentation to the newest member of the Mouseguard.  Unfortunately, he had left some items at home, including the mouse pouch he had intended to give out.  So I watched King Cornelius III give out his own belt pouch in lieu of a mouse pouch.

While the battle was going on, I had been keeping my hands busy with a mouse pouch, and had, only 20 minutes prior to court, just sewn in the lining.  I was terribly proud of my work:  a white felt mouse appliquéd onto a red felt pouch with blanket stitched white silk, his tail stitched in chain stitch, the cords of woollen braid I had finished on my trip to Stegby passing through eyelets stitched in red silk, and the cotton lining, stitched separately and added at the last so that it could be turned out easily (kids do tend to accumulate nasties in the corners of pouches, if my childhood is anything to go by).  The only thing it lacked was a means to attach it to the child… either a shoulder strap or a belt loop.

Immediately as court was finished, I went to my bag to retrieve the (almost) completed pouch.  It would not do to have our king losing his valuables for lack of a belt pouch.  It seemed almost to be fate.  So I presented it to him, sans belt loop, and explained the situation.  Luckily the lady next to him happened to be the mother of the boy who had just received his new commission, and she readily agreed to adding the necessary attachment.  I do believe our king was extremely grateful to be able to retrieve his pouch, especially as it seemed to be a rather exquisite (and sturdy) pouch.

This does leave me with the unfortunate situation of not having taken a photograph of the finished item.  However, good things come in threes, and I have another two pouches on the way.  The photograph below (taken from an angle, I’m afraid) is one of the upcoming pouches, as yet incomplete, but which can give a reasonable idea of how the first looks.

Mouseguard pouch #2, nearing completion

