I’ve just made two sets of Story Stones. One set I will gift to Stegby at the up and coming Feast of Friendship, the other set is for me, as part of my bardic bag of tricks.

So what are Story Stones?

Story Stones

Every stone has a word, and every word is the seed for a new story

Put simply, they are a creative lubricant. Basically, it’s any number of stones in an appropriately sized bag. On each stone, there is a word. Most of these words are nouns… places, people, animals, things. I’ve added some colours in too, just in case.

The idea is to draw out two stones at random, then to ad-lib a story featuring those two things.

I tested them out on myself this afternoon. I picked out “Eagle” and “Lizard”. There, in front of my husband and my step-daughter, I created the following short story:

The Tale of the Eagle and the Lizard

Once upon a time, there was an eagle. He was flying along on a nice day, feeling the wind ruffle through his feathers, thinking how good it was to be an eagle.

At the same time, a lizard was out having a bask. He was enjoying his life, lying there on his favourite rock, feeling the sun on his back, thinking how good it was to be a lizard.

The eagle happened to look down and see the lizard, lying there on a nice, exposed rock. “Hmm, I’m a bit peckish,” he thought, and decided that the lizard would make a fantastic lunch. So he swooped down and grabbed the lizard.

The lizard, who had been nodding off, woke suddenly and saw the ground slipping away underneath him. “Wha…. What’s going on? Where am I?” He looked up to see the eagle. “Who are you?”

The eagle looked at the lizard briefly. “I’m going to take you back to my nest and eat you for lunch,” he explained.

The lizard didn’t like the sound of that. “Wait, wait, wait,” he said, “You don’t want to eat me. Look, I’m scrawny, I’m bony, I really don’t taste that good. But what if I said I could get you something that was a lot tastier, and would fill you up more?”

The eagle thought about it, and realised he really was quite hungry, and the lizard would probably only do for a quick snack. “What do you have in mind?” he asked.

“Look, see that bush down there?” The lizard pointed at a large bush hemmed in by some trees. “That’s where we need to go.”

The eagle looked down where the lizard was pointing. “I’m not to sure about that, I’m really too big to go into a space that’s got lots of trees like that. They get caught up in my wings.”

“Don’t worry. I can get you something much larger than me, but it’s there. You just have to drop me off there and I’ll go get it for you.”

The eagle greedily imagined plump rabbits and other yummy things to eat as he swooped down to the clear spot next to the bush.

“Stay here, I’ll be just a second,” the lizard called as he scampered into the bushes.

The eagle waited. And waited. And waited. After about ten minutes, he called out “What’s the hold up?”

But there was no reply.

